£ 10.00

Hawks Rising – The Story Of No. 25 Squadron Royal Air Force

AUTHOR – Francis K Mason

PUBLISHER – Air-Britain

FORMAT – Hardback

PAGES – 278


ISBN – 0 85130 307 2

1 in stock

Category: Product ID: 10692


This beautifully presented volume, written by one of the greatest authorities on the history of the Royal Air Force, is a worthy tribute to a squadron that has flown a wide cross-section of types from a long list of famous bases.  25 Squadron was formed at Montrose in September 1915 with F.E.2bs and moved to France a few months later for fighter and reconnaissance work. Later in that conflict it flew DH.4s and DH.9As. During the interwar years it flew Grebes, Siskins, Fury Is and IIs, Demons, Gladiators, and then the type with which it entered the Second World War ­ the Blenheim.  The Blenheims were succeeded by Beaufighters, then Havocs and various Marks of Mosquitos. Its first jets, Vampires, arrived in 1951, followed by Meteors and Javelins. 25 Squadron operated the Bloodhound missile through the 1960s. In 1989 it equipped with the Tornado, and became the RAF squadron with the longest continuous length of service.  The airfields occupied by 25 Squadron, evident in the many photographs, have included Hawkinge, Northolt, North Weald, Martlesham Heath, Wittering, Church Fenton, West Malling, Tangmere, Leuchars, Wyton and Leeming.  Extensive appendices cover casualties, PoWs, combat successes, COs and deployments.

Additional information

Weight1.34 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hawks Rising – The Story Of No. 25 Squadron Royal Air Force”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *